Moonrise Kingdom (2012)


Believe it or not, Moonrise Kingdom was my first Wes Anderson movie.

I know, I know. You’re thinking, “How can Curtis love movies if he’s never seen a Wes Anderson movie before?” Well, shit happens. I wasn’t avoiding them. It’s simply a statistical anomaly.

So the big question is… what did I think?

I liked it. I didn’t love it, but I liked it.

Moonrise Kingdom is about two kids who go on the lam in a small island community in 1965. And it’s a good, entertaining movie. I didn’t laugh as often as I would have liked, but I did find the movie as a whole very amusing. I liked the characters and the actors who played them, especially the kids. They won me over as outcasts, rejects who seek to find their own Island of Misfit Toys. But I think the biggest reason I want to recommend this movie is because I like that it exists.

Too few movies take chances these days. Too few movies have a discernible personality of their own. So many seem to be created by committee according to well-worn templates—vanilla ice cream that caters to the least common denominator. So I want to celebrate films that break from the mold.

That’s not to say that Moonrise Kingdom is any less accessible to the average movie-goer. Even though the filmmaking style is playful and the humor and the acting is quirky, the story has a heart. A happy ending that doesn’t pander. And the characters exhibit a real compassion at times that took me by surprise, in a good way. In my opinion, there’s always more room on the screen for people caring about people.

It’s almost as if Moonrise Kingdom has an attitude more than a story. An attitude that I myself find inspiring and could do well adopting much more often.

More info at IMDb, RottenTomatoes, and Amazon.com.

Tagged , , , ,

One thought on “Moonrise Kingdom (2012)

  1. […] Moonrise Kingdom: Looking back at the review I wrote immediately after seeing Moonrise Kingdom, I see that my reaction was positive but restrained. But in some strange way, this movie has grown on me subconsciously. I remember it now much more fondly than my initial reaction to it would suggest. I look forward to revisiting it. […]

Leave a Reply

